News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/11/2022 5:01:56 PM to 1/19/2022 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

City of Steamboat Springs NEWS

Posted on: January 11, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Nominating Committee Recommends Five Appointments to YVHA

YVHA Appointments NewsFlash

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, CO, January 11, 2022 – The Nominating Committee of Commissioners Beth Melton, Tim Corrigan and Tim Redmond and City Council Members Heather Sloop, Michael Buccino and Robin Crossan met today to interview the nine applicants for the four available seats on the Yampa Valley Housing Authority Board of Directors. These seats are three-year terms with terms expiring December 31, 2024. The Board of Directors govern and control all YVHA business affairs, activities, and property. The board consists of seven to 15 volunteers who must work or live within the YVHA service boundaries.

After two hours of interviews, the committee voted to nominate Cole Hewitt (incumbent), Roger Ashton (incumbent), Kathi Meyer (previously served on YVHA) and Robert “Rob” Roetzel to the four open three-year seats. They also recommend Catherine Carson (incumbent) for a term with a limit that is yet to be decided. Commissioner Corrigan was absent for the official vote, but stated his agreement prior to his departure. 

Rob Roetzel, the only individual nominated who hasn’t previously served, stated one of his reasons for applying to YVHA, “I’ve lost entire groups of friends to this housing crisis.”

The committee will take these nominations back to the Board of County Commissioners and City Council for final appointment. These nominated individuals would join Leah Wood, Mike Beyer, Chris Slota, Michael Ann Marchand, Alison Brodie, Reid Peterson, and Luke Carrier who currently serve on the Yampa Valley Housing Authority Board of Directors. 



Facebook Twitter Email