News Flash Home
The original item was published from 8/24/2018 8:35:23 AM to 9/8/2018 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

City of Steamboat Springs NEWS

Posted on: August 24, 2018

[ARCHIVED] City Joins Compact of Colorado Communities

Compact for Colorado Communities

The City of Steamboat Springs has joined nearly 30 other Colorado cities and counties as part of the Compact of Colorado Communities, one of the largest climate change focused collections of local governments.

“Time and time again, our citizens have indicated how important clean water and clean air is to them, and joining the Compact is one more step in fulfilling that community commitment,” said City Council President Pro Tem Kathi Meyer.

The Compact of Colorado Communities was established to be a tool for advancing climate change education, action, and policymaking in local governments statewide. The Compact focuses upon building capacity in critical decision-making roles through collaborative learning activities enabling its members to rapidly scale up and advance climate action planning at the local level.

In addition to the Compact, the City of Steamboat Springs currently utilizes the STAR Community Rating System (STAR) as the framework for its sustainability, which sets targets for moving forward, and measures progress along the way. Steamboat Springs is the only 4-STAR certified community in Colorado and one of three cities in the state to receive STAR certification, with Durango and Fort Collins obtaining 3-STAR certification.

The Compact reports Colorado is already two degrees warmer than it was 30 years ago, and citizens and businesses throughout the state are already feeling the heat. In Steamboat Springs, several environmental changes have been at the forefront the past few years including reduced snowpack impacting ski season operation and events, mandatory water and fire restrictions as well as river closures due to low river flows and higher water temperatures.  

The City of Steamboat Springs joins Compact members including the cities of Avon, Aspen, Basalt, Boulder, Breckenridge, Durango, Eagle, Fort Collins, Fraser, Frisco, Golden, Lafayette, Manitou Springs, Minturn, Pueblo, Snowmass Village, Telluride, Vail, Westminster and Winter Park along with Adams, Boulder, Denver, Eagle, Gunnison, Pitkin and Summit Counties.

For more information about the Compact of Colorado Communities, visit



Gary Suiter, City Manager, 970.871.8240 or email

Winnie Delliquadri, Assistant to the City Manager, 970.871.8257 or email

Michael Lane, Communications Manager, 970.871.8220 or email

Facebook Twitter Email